BBurg Stargard (StargardCastle) sits atop a natural hill at the edge of a small town bearing the same name. Stargard is a Slavic name (meaning “old castle”) connected with a settlement history dating back to the Stone Age. The history of the present-day castle began presumably in 1236 as a castle for margraves from Brandenburg. The remains of this original structure include the “Unteres Tor” (lower gate), “Erstes Oberes Tor” (first upper gate), and “Dat Olde Hus” (the old house), of which only ruins of walls remain. The “Krummes Haus” (crooked house) was built later but has also been preserved as a ruin. Other buildings include the Vorburg (outbuildings) with the Marstall (stables), which now houses the museum, and agricultural buildings, as well as the “Alte Münze”, now an inn, and the 38-meter (125-foot) Burgfried (keep). Visitors who scale the steps to the top of this tower are rewarded with a fascinating view of the ice-age sculpted landscape. On a clear day, you can even see Mecklenburg’s highest peak, the Helpter Berg. Every year, festivals are held on the castle grounds, with medieval markets, knights’ tournaments, and numerous performances
A tour of the Marie Hager House will be offered prior to the concert, at 6:00p.m.
Address: Dewitzer Chaussee 17 in 17094 Burg Stargard
17094 Burg Stargard